Slice of Life Challenge March 2, 2015

11454297503_e27946e4ff_hBooks touch us, books change us.

The best gifts are those that come from the heart. Simply said, but these gifts, they are the ones that speak to us all throughout our lives.  As I write the second post on this blog for the #SOL15 challenge, I am reminded of something that happened last year around this time.

Preparing for the day before the students came through the halls I was in my office lost in thoughts around International Book Giving Day which was approaching.  As I gathered letters for the bulletin board on research-based argument essay and literary essay I was surprised when I picked up my head and saw someone was there, holding a book.  My friend and colleague had a smile on her face, and I could tell she was on the edge of saying something she could no longer hold in. She had her usual smile, yet there was something else there, I could tell.  It was not only the book she was holding, but she was holding something in her heart and was on verge of sharing something special.  She handed me a book and explained how she was giving me this book to read and that she just read it and knew I would love it.  So of course I thought she had been reading my mind.  Funny how things happen at just the most perfect moments.  We chatted about the book and immediately I was connected.  We then talked about International Book Giving Day and how I was making plans in my head how I would give a book, leave a book or donate a book the following day.

This book was such a gift, truly from the heart. A gift that will continue to touch me and teach me at different points throughout my life.

Flash forward just over a year later and I am so proud to be part of a literacy leadership team that is sharing a book with our entire building as we engage in a building-wide read aloud of the book, Wonder by R.J. Palacios.  To spread the joy of reading and thinking more my school is beginning our first faculty book study on the book, Mindset The New Psychology of Success by Carol S. Dweck.

Books touch us.  Books change us.  Stories touch us.  Stories change us.  As a lifetime learner I know that as long as I have lessons to learn in literacy, I will learn lessons in life.

6 thoughts on “Slice of Life Challenge March 2, 2015

  1. Sigh. I could have written this myself. I love a love affair with books and stories. Such powerful gifts we have been given, and what a powerful charge to support students in bringing these gifts into their lives!

  2. Those are two of the amazing books that have also touched me in the past couple years. The language of book-lovers is a language of transformation, and adoration. I love listening to my friends and colleagues as they speak in this sacred language of stories and ideas.

Leave a Reply

