March 22, 2015 Day 22 Slice of Life Challenge

“Did I bit off more than I can chew?”

As I was sitting at my kitchen table (aka my work table) tonight my daughter had on Netflix and was watching Saturday Night Live, the episode where Bruno Mars is both the host and the musical guest.  This is his first time serving in both roles and he starts the monologue talking about how he was nervous because he never acted before and he was not sure he could be like Justin Timberlake who has often been the host and musical guest.

Books, papers, pens, post-its, Macbook, phone, tablet, a bottle of water and some survival chocolate spread across this table.  Across the table is my son, who I have to laugh at because he looks like me piles of books across his side of the table as he works on his outlines for AP World and studies for Latin.  This is a typical sight in my house.

I am half listening to Bruno Mars as he begins to sing in the monologue, when I hear “Did I bite off more than I can chew?”  This line resonates with me as I consider that I still have to write my Day 22 Slice of Life challenge and I have four different piles of school work on the table and notes that I have to go through for an upcoming presentation that I worked on at length with a colleague this morning.

It is now 9:30 pm.  I am certainly feeling as if I did bite off more than I can chew tonight.  Perhaps I need to prioritize again and then set some timeframes around each pile of work. As I look up I see Bruno Mars who worried because he has never acted before and I see that he is absolutely taking on a Saturday Night Skit.  He is dressed like a girl who is a guest on a talk show, and he looks good and he is funny and he can definitely act!  snl-bruno-mars-featured

http://screenrant.com/snl-clips-recap-bruno-mars-2012/

With this, I am thinking hey if Bruno Mars thought he bit off more than he could chew and he got through it and was successful, so can I.  I am no rockstar, I am just a literacy coach with an insatiable drive to learn and grow but I too can sometimes feel like I bit off more than I can chew.  In the end I will get it done, just like Bruno Mars.

11454297503_e27946e4ff_h

11 thoughts on “March 22, 2015 Day 22 Slice of Life Challenge

    • Thank you for the encouraging words Jeanne-Marie. Collaboration is what gets this work done! Thanks for thinking with me in all our work, I think so much better in the company of a rockstar like you!

  1. I enjoyed reading there are others who bite of more than they can chew and how encouraging it was for you to see someone else, not in education do the same thing and survive.

    • Thank you of stopping by to read my post. It is really interesting to look at people outside of education and consider your own situation. Things that impact us also impact others, in any field.

  2. Yay you! I love the picture you painted with your words of you and your kids working around the table. What a beautiful and important time with your family. Get it all done, Amy! You can. You are. You Will!

Leave a Reply

