March 24, 2015 Day 24 Slice of Life Challenge

11454297503_e27946e4ff_h

Making Decisions

Currently I am reading several books.  Lean In by Sheryl Sandberg, Talk Like Ted by Carmine Gallo and Fish in a Tree by Lynda Mullaly Hunt — there are a few more that I am reading in between these, but these are the top three.  Each of these books speaks to a different reading path I am on.  I could almost call it a personal reading project, but it feels more like a path or a journey right now.  I am not sure of the end of the journey, but I know each book has a place on this journey and I cannot decide which one to focus on tonight, especially since the moments are slipping away.  At some point I do need to sleep, at least a short nap.

Today was particularly busy and I now as March 24, 2015 is about to be crossed off the calendar, here I am without a post for the Slice of Life Challenge.  Sure I still have some drafts sitting out there tonight, but the ones that are left are pretty limited.  Not sure if they are worthy of being called drafts, essentially they are still ideas.  The problem with these particular ideas is that they are not speaking to me tonight.

What is speaking to me tonight are these three books.  The quicker I can complete Day 24 of the Slice of Life Challenge, the quicker I can read one of these books.

In between the sentences I type for this post, I pick up a book, in Fish in a Tree I read over the inside of the cover, “Everybody is smart in different ways.  But if you judge a fish by its ability to climb a tree, it will live its life believing it is stupid.”  I really want to read this book, now!

Then I read over my jottings in Talk Like Ted and begin putting post-its on pages I want to reread and think about more.  I want to read that, watch some Ted Talks that Carmine Gallo refers to and read more.  I settle for post-its and a plan right now.  I have to meet this challenge.

“Careers are a jungle gym, not a ladder.”  This is a quote that Sherly Sandberg uses from Pattie Sellers. She is making the case that the term “career ladder” although the common metaphor for careers are actually more like a jungle gym.  This resonates with me.  For many reasons.  My professional journey for one, and then also because there is so much talk right now about creating career ladders for teachers.  Why not create a career jungle gym?  That seems to explore so many more options.  Imagine the talent that could unleash if teachers had career jungle gyms. This is a line I marked up in my book and did so much thinking around.  I feel the need to linger there a bit, think, read and write.  Maybe I should have blogged about that tonight.  Then I resort to a post-it and mark it to return later.

Making decisions…which book?  Well, I think for tonight I will make time to read Fish in a Tree, I marked up the other two books with post-its and a plan.  I could use the company of a good story tonight

.books

Leave a Reply

